Reviews

Fabulous Finds: The Big Reconnecting Selflove Journal

Alhamdulillah! I received this journal as a gift. It has a thin paperback and a gorgeous cover, MashaAllah! The size is just perfect – big enough to write comfortably in and small enough to fit into my bag. It contains prompts, affirmations and illustrations that I cannot wait to colour in. 

The world we live in is so demanding. There is always something you are ‘supposed’ to do to fit in. A pressure to conform or an ideal to fulfil. You are either too fat or too thin, too covered or too naked, sharing too much on social media or being antisocial. It is no wonder we feel lost sometimes.

Self-love, as selfish as it sounds is a divine responsibility. Like every other thing we have, ourselves are an Amanah (a trust). We cannot give, love or teach someone else when we have emptied our own cup of happiness. That is why it is important to embark on a journey to know yourself. Sometimes in the search for yourself, you may find your soul mate.

I love that the quotes are grey scale and not darkened so that you focus less on them and more on what you want you to know about you. As pretty as the journal is, it cannot help you figure you out. You would need to do that on your own. The prompts and quotes, however,  would help you get started on the journey to your true self.

I would recommend this to anyone and everyone who needs to reconnect with their soul or just loves pretty journals – Muslim or Christian, male or female.

“What in your life is calling you? When all the noise is silenced, the meetings adjourned, the lists laid aside, and the wild iris blooms by itself in the dark forest, what still pulls on your soul? In the silence between your heartbeats hides a summons. Do you hear it? Name it, if you must, or leave it nameless, but why pretend it is not there?” 

– The Terma Collective 

9 thoughts on “Fabulous Finds: The Big Reconnecting Selflove Journal”

  1. I love journals and journaling. Awesome to have received a fab gift like this Masha Alllah…

    It has a brilliant theme as well, something we. were diacusssing at an entrepreneurial class recently. You captured it well ” you can’t pour from an empty cup”. So… We need to step into some self love/ care to UP our game.

    Like

  2. Self-love is important indeed, it’s what will help an individual actually be an individual and you really have to be, when you face this life. It’s the essence of fulfilling one’s trust with God. I have an obsession on notebooks and journals… have too many right now and half are not filled… This kind of post is really satisfying but I’m trying to cut down on the addiction until I could grab myself some time to write instead of type. For now, the blog keeps me happy.

    Like

  3. I idea and layout of this journal are excellent, it the first time I have heard of it and has me intrigued. I am a journal lover so this one is now on my list of potential journals I should get next 😉 The last paragraph of the quote spoke to my soul and has me wondering what my heart calls out to.

    Like

  4. Wow, i really had no idea that self love was a divine responsibility. That’s so beautiful! I love the idea. Thank so much for sharing this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

