Reviews

Fabulous Reads: Love & Happiness – A collection of personal reflections and quotes.

Title: Love & Happiness – A collection of personal reflections and quotes

Author: Yasmin Mogahed

Category: Islamic, Non-fiction, SelfHelp

Publisher: FB Publishing (USA), 2017

This book could not have come at a better time. The past month was one with a lot of bad news. You know, when it seems like you are constantly being dealt a bad hand every time and I hit a bit of a low (you know that place just before despair). As I am the queen of keeping it all together, I was just floating and everything was just a series of routine movements. I picked up the book and then I started to read…

…If your heart is broken, know that He is Al-Jabbar, the One who mends. If your heart is dead, know that the One who can give life to the dead body can give life to your dead heart.

And I continued to read…

…Don’t control the tears. They are there for a reason. They were sent to heal you. Cry, because that is how we heal. Especially cry to Allah. I know that is the only reason I walk around. Cry especially in tahajjud. I can give no better advice to the broken. I can give no better advice to myself.

Alhamdulillah! For the soothing tears.

Yasmin Mogahed is pretty special to me and if you have read any of her books or posts or listened to her speak, you may understand why. My first encounter with her work was the book – Reclaim Your Heart. I was hooked and inspired then and I am still hooked and inspired. She writes and you just need to read to know that you are not alone.

When Allah wills good for us, He purifies us. That is why each person is tested in what they love the most. In other words, our greatest possible ‘competitor’ in our love for God is what may be withheld or sacrificed. This is the purification process because it cures the heart of competitors.

Love & Happiness was written from a place deep down. It was written to give back so as to help people not just survive but thrive inside their storms. Her message is still the same, we need to focus on Allah, He is The Everlasting. All else will pass. We need to see His right over us. She reiterates the same thing over and over again but without repeating herself. SubhanAllah! Just beautiful.

The book has 120 pages including some beautiful colour pages. I do wish there were more pages. The book is more than a self-help book. It is a manual to uplift your spirits and protect your heart. It will fill you with hope, and a need – a need to be a better version of yourself. I have highlighted almost all the pages of the book at this point.


“If God hands you a gift and you take it, but don’t say thank you, we call that ingratitude. But if God hands you a gift and you refuse to take it – that is the greatest ingratitude”.

Rating

5/5

Recommendation

I will recommend this book to everyone. This book is not a book you borrow or even lend. It is a book you own, you re-read and reaffirm and should you want anyone else to read it, you give them as a gift.

The book is available from Amazon.

This book is a gift from God. It is a legacy.

Question

What is one book you think everyone should read? Please let me know in the comments below.

Until next time,

Nana

11 thoughts on “Fabulous Reads: Love & Happiness – A collection of personal reflections and quotes.”

  1. Man, I can’t say how many times her words have pulled me out of despair. I read Reclaim Your Heart every now and then just to boost my morale, and if I had to pick a book for everyone to read, it will be Reclaim Your Heart. It’s like a moral compass for a Muslim.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ikr! Alhamdulillah! She truly has a gift. MashaAllah. That is a great book. I cannot say which is better but if i had to choose it will be Reclaim your heart. Only because it has more pages. More pages equals more awesomeness. 💛

      Like

  2. Reclaim your Heart…gosh that book is amazing, im currently reading it!! Ma sha allah she is such an inspiring muslimah..her words have just the power to reach to your heart and sooo deep. May Allah give you strength to face all the calamities and rise. Ameen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

