Reflections

From Nana’s Journal: 18th October 2017

“Currently going through the hardest chapter in my life but I am learning so much about myself. I see what you did there, God”.
….
….


So I came the above quote some while back and it got me thinking about the ‘hard times’. We all have had them at one point or another in our lives. That moment when you feel like nothing good is happening to you or for you. Or when you hit rock bottom and cant find your way up. Or when the ‘test’ is sweat and tear-inducing and you cry out to Allah. Or when someone you trust let you down. Or when you are introduced to sickness, loss, grief and desperation. Or when you are up at night cause you do not want the nightmares that come with sleep. Or when your heart is broken and you do not think it can be mended. Or those moments when everyone else seems to easily have that one thing that you want – whether it is admission to a particular school, a new job, a contract, a spouse, a baby, some money. Or when you fail at something you so badly want to succeed at. I mean, you worked hard at it. You gave it your best. Or that moment when you sinned and despaired in the mercy of Allah. ….
….
….
These moments have some things in common. You learn so much about yourself. You are not weak or fragile. You are brave and strong and you did not give up. You found out that things you held on to like life itself did not really matter. You witnessed your goals, dreams and aspirations change and become more purpose driven. You were more mindful of Salah and you found that waking up for Tahajjud and Fajr wasn’t so difficult. Who knew fasting could help your issues with digestion. You find solace in His words. And most importantly, you find that He was there. He never left. You had just moved away and He wanted to bring you back. And in those moments, you find that you came back.
وَكَانَ فَضْلُ اللَّهِ عَلَيْكَ عَظِيمًا 😊
😊
God’s bounty to you is great indeed. [Surat An-Nisa’ 113]
_______
🙏
🙏
“Ya Ḥayyu ya Qayyūm, by Your Mercy I seek help, rectify for me all of my affairs and do not leave me to depend on myself, even for the blink of an eye.” Ameen 😊

~ From Nana’s Journal

4 thoughts on “From Nana’s Journal: 18th October 2017”

  1. SubhanAllah…I was just reading your newer post on your review of Year of Yes, where you mention that Allah chooses when you are going to read a book, and I think the same is true of blog posts =) This is definitely something I needed to hear today. I’ve been in this space for about a year now, of patiently waiting out some trials and trying to let go of the dunya and find solace in Allah. Alhamdulillah things have been much, much better lately, but just yesterday I started going through some setbacks. I woke up today with a raging headache and just feeling not quite good about life, but alhamdulillah this post was a timely reminder! Jazakum Allahu khairan for that.

    Like

    1. Awww SubhanAllah! It is all part of His perfect plan. Alhamdulillah that you felt better. Sometimes, the pressure does get too much and we find that we do need to disconnect from the dunya more often. May Allah ease your affairs sis. Ameen

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment